The Resource Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote, Tina Cassidy

Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote, Tina Cassidy

Label
Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote
Title
Mr. President, how long must we wait?
Title remainder
Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote
Statement of responsibility
Tina Cassidy
Title variation
Mister President, how long must we wait?
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in the fight for women's equality. Woodrow Wilson arrives in Washington, DC, in March 1913, a day before he is to take the presidential oath of office. He is surprised by the modest turnout. The crowds and reporters are blocks away from Union Station, watching a parade of eight thousand suffragists on Pennsylvania Avenue in a first-of-its-kind protest organized by a twenty-five-year-old activist named Alice Paul and led by a woman riding a white horse. The next day, the New York Times calls the procession "one of the most impressively beautiful spectacles ever staged in this country." [This book] weaves together two story lines: the trajectories of Alice Paul and Woodrow Wilson, two apparent opposites. Paul's procession of suffragists resulted in her being granted a face-to-face meeting with President Wilson, one that would lead to many meetings and much discussion, but little progress for women. With no equality in sight and patience wearing thin, Paul organized the first group ever to picket on the White House lawn--night and day, through sweltering summer mornings and frigid fall nights. From solitary confinement, hunger strikes, and mental institutions to ever more determined activism, [this book] reveals the courageous, near-death journey it took, spearheaded in no small part by Alice Paul's leadership, for women to win the right to vote in America. A rousing portrait of a little-known feminist heroine and an inspiring exploration of a crucial moment in American history--one century before the Women's March--this is a perfect book for fans of Keith O'Brien's Fly Girls and Jon Meacham's The Soul of America."--Dust jacket
Biography type
collective biography
Cataloging source
NhCcYBP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cassidy, Tina
Dewey number
  • 324.6/23092
  • B
Index
index present
LC call number
JK1899.P38
LC item number
C37 2019
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
ProQuest (Firm)
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Paul, Alice
  • Wilson, Woodrow
  • Suffragists
  • Women
  • Women's rights
Label
Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote, Tina Cassidy
Link
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umanitoba/detail.action?docID=5700853
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 269-271) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
A Quaker from New Jersey -- Password: kitchen -- A southern boy -- From Princeton to public office -- The suffrage procession -- Where are all the people? -- In the Oval Office -- The siege of the Senate -- A house divided -- Dark days -- Submarine warfare -- The advancing army -- The silent sentinels -- Fighting for democracy -- The Russians -- The Bastille Day protest -- Behind bars -- The hunger strikes -- The watch fires of freedom -- The amendment -- The vote
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501177781
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
7DB50B85-5B3E-406E-937D-2C84C3D177F4
System control number
(NhCcYBP)40028933353
Label
Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote, Tina Cassidy
Link
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umanitoba/detail.action?docID=5700853
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 269-271) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
A Quaker from New Jersey -- Password: kitchen -- A southern boy -- From Princeton to public office -- The suffrage procession -- Where are all the people? -- In the Oval Office -- The siege of the Senate -- A house divided -- Dark days -- Submarine warfare -- The advancing army -- The silent sentinels -- Fighting for democracy -- The Russians -- The Bastille Day protest -- Behind bars -- The hunger strikes -- The watch fires of freedom -- The amendment -- The vote
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501177781
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
7DB50B85-5B3E-406E-937D-2C84C3D177F4
System control number
(NhCcYBP)40028933353

Library Locations

  • Albert D. Cohen Management LibraryBorrow it
    181 Freedman Crescent, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 5V4, CA
    49.807878 -97.129961
  • Architecture/Fine Arts LibraryBorrow it
    84 Curry Place, Winnipeg, MB, CA
    49.807716 -97.136226
  • Archives and Special CollectionsBorrow it
    25 Chancellors Circle (Elizabeth Dafoe Library), Room 330, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2, CA
    49.809961 -97.131878
  • Bibliothèque Alfred-Monnin (Université de Saint-Boniface)Borrow it
    200, avenue de la Cathédrale, Local 2110, Winnipeg, MB, R2H 0H7, CA
    49.888861 -97.119735
  • Bill Larson Library (Grace Hospital)Borrow it
    300 Booth Drive, G-227, Winnipeg, MB, R3J 3M7, CA
    49.882400 -97.276436
  • Carolyn Sifton - Helene Fuld Library (St. Boniface General Hospital)Borrow it
    409 Tache Avenue, Winnipeg, MB, R2H 2A6, CA
    49.883388 -97.126050
  • Concordia Hospital LibraryBorrow it
    1095 Concordia Avenue, Winnipeg, MB, R2K 3S8, CA
    49.913252 -97.064683
  • Donald W. Craik Engineering LibraryBorrow it
    75B Chancellors Circle (Engineering Building E3), Room 361, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2, CA
    49.809053 -97.133292
  • E.K. Williams Law LibraryBorrow it
    224 Dysart Road, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 5V4, CA
    49.811829 -97.131017
  • Eckhardt-Gramatté Music LibraryBorrow it
    136 Dafoe Road (Taché Arts Complex), Room 257, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2, CA
    49.807964 -97.132222
  • Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryBorrow it
    25 Chancellors Circle, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2, CA
    49.809961 -97.131878
  • Fr. H. Drake Library (St. Paul's College)Borrow it
    70 Dysart Road, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2M6, CA
    49.810605 -97.138184
  • J.W. Crane Memorial Library (Deer Lodge Centre)Borrow it
    2109 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, MB, R3J 0L3, CA
    49.878000 -97.235520
  • Libraries Annex (not open to the public; please see web page for details)Borrow it
    25 Chancellors Circle (in the Elizabeth Dafoe Library), Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2, CA
    49.809961 -97.131878
  • Neil John Maclean Health Sciences LibraryBorrow it
    727 McDermot Avenue (Brodie Centre), 200 Level, Winnipeg, MB, R3E 3P5, CA
    49.903563 -97.160554
  • Sciences and Technology LibraryBorrow it
    186 Dysart Road, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2M8, CA
    49.811526 -97.133257
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital LibraryBorrow it
    2300 McPhillips Street, Winnipeg, MB, R2V 3M3, CA
    49.955177 -97.148865
  • Sister St. Odilon Library (Misericordia Health Centre)Borrow it
    99 Cornish Avenue, Winnipeg, MB, R3C 1A2, CA
    49.879592 -97.160425
  • St. John's College LibraryBorrow it
    92 Dysart Road, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2M5, CA
    49.811242 -97.137156
  • Victoria General Hospital LibraryBorrow it
    2340 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2E8, CA
    49.806755 -97.152739
  • William R Newman Library (Agriculture)Borrow it
    66 Dafoe Road, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2R3, CA
    49.806936 -97.135525
Processing Feedback ...